The Centers for Advanced Studies in the Humanities (GWZ)

The Geisteswissenschaftliche Zentren Berlin e.V. (GWZ) grew out of recommendations made by the German Council of Science and Humanities in both June 1991 and November 1994. As a result, in 1995 the Berlin State Senator for Science established the GWZ as an umbrella organization that includes three research centers:

After four years of preparations as a pilot program funded by the Max Planck Society’s Development Fund for New Academic Projects, the three centers officially commenced operations on January 1, 1996. Continued funding was made possible by the German Council of Science and Humanities through its commendation of the Centers’ work in 2006. This support also helped the Centers obtain funding from the State of Berlin (starting in 2008), from the BMBF [Federal Ministry of Education and Research], which funds three research projects as part of the Centers’ expansion program, and from a number of individual grants from both national and international institutions.

Board of Directors

Professor Dr. Ulrike Freitag, director of the ZMO
Professor Dr. Eva Geulen, director of the ZfL
Professor Dr. Manfred Krifka, director of the ZAS
Wolfgang Kreher, General Manager

The board of directors and the three centers share an administrative staff that provides a wide range of support for the researchers.

Works Council

The elected Works Council represents the rights and interests of all employees towards the employer according to German law (Works Constitution Act). Representatives of the ZfL are Halina Hackert, Moritz Neuffer, Falko Schmieder and Matthias Schwartz.

Further information on the GWZ Works Council


Geisteswissenschaftliche Zentren Berlin e.V.
Schützenstraße 18
10117 Berlin
Tel 49 (0)30/20192-130
Fax 49 (0)30/20192-120
GWZ Website